How Many States Of America? States Lists And Informations

How Many States of America? States Lists of America

America is located in the Western Hemisphere between the Pacific Ocean and the Atlantic Ocean. The United States of America is a federal constitutional republic composed of states and a federal district. Its area is 9.8 million square kilometers. Therefore, it is the fourth-largest country in the world in terms of land area. At the same time, America is the third most populous country in the world due to its population exceeding 328.2 million.

Washington DC is both the nation’s capital and its federal district. The most populous city in the United States is New York. It has the distinction of being a founding member of worldwide organizations such as the World Bank, International Monetary Fund, Organization of American States and NATO. So how many states are there in America?

Administrative units that are managed by governors and have some autonomy in terms of administration are called provinces. States; It forms the main administrative units of countries such as Austria, Australia, and America. In the state structures of some federal countries, the provinces have their own self-government. At the head of these administrations, depending on the constitutional rules of the state, governors or prime ministers are elected by the people, as well as governors can be appointed by the central government.

However, in the United States, the governors of the states are elected by the people. In addition, since the establishment of America, the number of states has increased from period to period and the rules have changed constantly. We have compiled for you those who are curious about the states of the United States of America.

How Many States Are There in America?


There are 50 states in the United States. These states form political union with each other. Each of the states has administrative authority in a geographic area. In addition, their sovereignty is with the federal government. Therefore, Americans are considered citizens of both the federal government and the state in which they live. Changing residence in this state citizenship is flexible. No permit is required to move from one state to another. However, the rules of the court decision are applied for the convicts released on parole and the children of those who have custody.

According to the constitution, states have various powers and rights. Previously, matters such as local law enforcement, education in schools, health care, infrastructure, regulation of commerce within the state, and local transportation were the responsibility of the states. Now these areas are subject to the regulations of the federal governments. Over time, the United States Constitution has undergone revisions and laws have been changed. The powers of the states and the limits of their sovereignty are still being debated.


Residents of these states are represented in the federal Congress, made up of the Senate and the House of Representatives. There are two senators in the Senate for each state. Members in the House of Representatives are elected from single-member districts. These representatives are apportioned among the states in proportion to be determined by the most recent ten-year constitutional census. In addition, each state has the right to send electors to the Electoral College, which elects the head of state. The states in America are:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Hawaii
  • lIIinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska statewide
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Caroline
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregan
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Leave a Comment